(864) 295-5764

3800 Calhoun Memorial Hwy, Easley, SC 29640


Kwasniewski Wins

   Dylan Kwasniewski came from Las Vegas to run the Labor Day Kevin Whitaker 140 for K&N East division cars, and used a novel strategy to end up where he started, taking the checkered flag.
    When the race started, Kwasniewski faded back into the pack, as other fast cars kept moving forward.
    Greenville's Jeremy Burns worked his way to the front and led almost a third of the race, but mechanical problems caused him to fall back. That's about when Kwasniewski was coming forward and David Suarez, from Monterrey, Mexico, who started on the outside front row, finished second. Greg Gaulding was the third-place finisher, and Mackena Bell was fourth. Eddie McDonald, from Mass., was the fifth place finisher.
    Ben Rhodes, who had come to GPS earlier to compete in the Late-Model Stock division, had an envious record going coming into the Labor Day race. Rhodes had set on the pole in the first race and led every lap to win, and since he is only 16  years old became the youngest driver ever to win a LMS race here. The next day, when the race program was completed due to a rainout, he once again led every lap and won.
    In the Labor Day event, he could only qualify 19th and was never a factor in the race.
    Bobby Emory took the win in the Renegade division race, with Brad Burns in second and Andrew Cordell was fourth. Scott Tyner took fifth as Phillip Peters was sixth. Parker Jameson was seventh, as Daniel Jameson, Larry Nabors and Charles Sutton completed the field.
    Brian King outran Charlie Hooper to win the 4 cylinder main event, as Don Tavernia and Austin Heil finished third and fourth, respectively. Donovan Beacham was fifth, as Ray Mullinax and CJ Huitt and Freddy Hale, Jr., were sixth, seventh, and eighth. Travis Barbare took ninth, and Johnny Satterfield finished tenth. Char Tavernia and Michael Cross comleted the field.
    Travis Cox managed to stay ahead of Mchael Mote to win the Charger main event and Andy Norris finished third. Chris Harvell and Tim Sams finished fifth. Danny Gilbert was sixth and Tim Crows was seventh.
    The next race at Greenville-Pickens Speedway will be Saturday night, Sept. 14, for Championship Night.
FaceBook  Twitter

Event Calendar