(864) 295-5764

3800 Calhoun Memorial Hwy, Easley, SC 29640


Anders Adds to His Win Total


Photo by Kerry Dale Photography

GREENVILLE, SC  --  Anthony Anders finished first in one race, and thought he would have to settle for a runner-up finish in the second race Saturday night at Greenville-Pickens Speeway. Anders was the winner in the first 40-lap Late-Model Stock race, leading just one lap and passing Randy Porter on the white-flag lap. After the race, Anders and Porrter were involved in a backstretch bumping, and prospects for the second race were exciting, with the two track champions punching it out. The finish of the first race was Anders, Porter, Burns, Dylan Hall, and Kyle Plott.
Photo by Kerry Dale Photography    It looked like the second main would feature another bout between Porter and Anders, but Porter did not start the second race. However, there was plenty of action waiting. In the second main, with Porter not starting, Anders still elected to start 10th for the additional points. Jeremy Burns was up front, and he led the way as Anders worked his way toward the front.  During the race, Kyle Plott's engine blew and his racecar became a fireball as he went into turn one. The race was stopped while the oil was cleaned off the track. After the race got back underway, it all came down to the last lap, with the cars of Anders and Burns racing closely. At the finish, Burns was able to hold Anders off by less than a car length to collect the win. With Burns tentatively winning the second race, Anders was second. Dylan Hall took third, Brandon Fox was fourth and Joe Wilder took fifth.
    But the excitement and surprises still were not over. As the cars went to the tech shed for post-race inspection, Anthony Anders attempted to protest Jeremy Burns, who elected not to have his car inspected and forfeited the victory. That puts Anders in the winner's circle for both races. "In the first race, the important thing was winning, and I won," Anders said after it was all over. 
     After Burns' disqualification, Anders collected another victory, with Dylan Hall second and Brandon Fox third. Joe Wilder was fourth and Jeremy Drummond took fifth.
    Bobby Emory won the Renegade main, ahead of Brad Burns, Daniel Jameson, Parker Jameson, and Blake Gregory. Chris Meinders a former division champion at GPS, made his way back to Victory Lane in the Streeet Stock main, finishing ahead of Freddy Hale, Jr. Buck Simmons was third, with Drew Moser fourth and Travis Shelton fifth. Shane Gregory won the Pure Stock main, ahead of Jason McGrew, Rob Horton, and John Cordell. Ray Mullinax took the win in the Four Cylinder division, with Brian King second. Donovan Beacham was third, Austin Heil fourth, and Michael Cross was fifth. Mike Mote won the Chargers main, staying ahead of Camden Francis, and Tim Sams was third. Ryan Dombrowsky was fourth and Tim Crowe finished fifth.
Photo by Kerry Dale Photography 
Photo by Kerry Dale Photography
FaceBook  Twitter

Event Calendar